of spices and success

The Spice of Success

If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?

Without a doubt failure and success go hand in hand, for if we never tasted failure how would we appreciate the taste of success? If being successful was everyone’s cup of tea, would we not be running away from it, rather than towards it? Failure gives us hope, it gives us inspiration, a goal. We look at people who are successful and aspire, we dare to dream, to hope,to pursue that hope, only having thAt hope dashed to the ground. What does that failure fill us with? More determination, renewed vigour, to try and to achieve our Everest. As a writer with no connections in the publishing world, I faced rejection after rejection to get my book published. I may not have succeeded yet, I may never be as famous as I aspire to be. But will that stop me from dreaming, from being hopeful, that someday my hard work will pay off? The answer is a very simple no. I will always take a step forward since I believe every step that ends in failure, somehow also ends up in taking me one step closer to my success.

Leave a Reply

